Upcoming Webinars

From Aerospace and Defense to Air Transport, MRO and Business Aviation, take a look at the full list of upcoming webinars below.

 

ON-DEMAND WEBINARS

Drone Remote Identification

March 12, 2021

11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET

 

The FAA’s new Part 89 regulation for the Remote Identification of Unmanned Aircraft takes effect on March 16, 2021, and will require that nearly all small drones be capable of broadcasting their position by September 2023.

 

How will the requirement work in practice and what are the implications for drone operator privacy? The webinar will also consider the topics of Unmanned Aircraft System Traffic Management (UTM) and commercial drone operations.

 

Moderated by Bill Carey, Senior Editor, Business & Commercial Aviation

 

Panelists:

Edgar Valdez, Regulatory Strategy Manager, UPS Flight Forward

 

Melissa Glidden Tye, Associate General Counsel, Emerging Technologies, Verizon

 

Kip Spurio, Managing Director, Air Traffic Systems, Raytheon Technologies

 

Matt Satterley, Policy and Government Relations, Wing

REGISTER

Aerospace’s Hottest Market? The Future of Vertical Lift

March 15, 2021

10:00 EDT / 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET

 

Exciting new technologies and designs are beginning to broaden dramatically the once-limited horizons of vertical lift. Can industry break out of the mold that has shaped this sector for decades?

 

Nick Lappos, Sikorsky senior technical fellow and chair of the U.S. National Academies Committee on Advanced Air Mobility, and Mike Hirschberg, executive director of the Vertical Flight Society, join Aviation Week editors for a deep dive into what’s coming – military and civil, manned and unmanned, conventional and eVTOL –and which ideas are most likely to succeed.

 

Moderated by Graham Warwick, Executive Editor, Technology, Aviation Week Network

 

Panelists

Nick Lappos, Sikorsky Senior Technical Fellow and Chair of the US National Academies Committee on Advanced Air Mobility

 

Mike Hirschberg, Executive Director, The Vertical Flight Society

 

Tony Osborne, London Bureau Chief and rotorcraft specialist, Aviation Week Network

 

REGISTER

Commercial Aircraft Development: What’s on the Horizon?

March 17, 2021

10:00 EDT / 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET

 

Soaring sales of the A321neo and the woes of Boeing’s 737 MAX have enabled Airbus to make big gains in market share. Can a cash-strapped Boeing afford to develop a new aircraft in response – and if it does, what would be the best approach? And how much life is left in “conventional” aircraft and engine designs now that pressure on the industry is mounting for carbon-neutral travel?

 

Aerospace analyst Sash Tusa joins Aviation Week editors for a look at what’s coming in aircraft and engine design, from the near-term to the long-term.

 

Moderated by Joe Anselmo, Editorial Director, Aviation Week Network

 

Panelists

Sash Tusa, Aerospace Analyst, Agency Partners

 

Jens Flottau, Executive Editor, Commercial Aviation, Aviation Week

 

Guy Norris, Senior Propulsion Editor, Aviation Week

REGISTER

The Outlook for Defense in a Biden Administration


March 18, 2021

14:00 EDT / 18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET

 

New administrations always usher in policy changes. The question is how much U.S. President Joe Biden plans to change at the Pentagon – and what programs he is likely to retain. We talk with the two leaders of a House Armed Services Committee panel that sets policies about the purchase of the nation’s bomber fleet, aerial refueling tankers, transport aircraft, aircraft carriers and nuclear weapons.


Join Aviation Week editors and guests as they discuss the emerging priorities of the U.S. and their priorities for the fiscal 2022 budget cycle.

 

Moderated by Jen DiMascio, Executive Editor, Defense and Space, Aviation Week

 

Panelists:

Rep. Joe Courtney (D-Conn.), chairman, House Armed Services projection forces subcommittee

 

Rep. Rob Wittman (R-Va.), ranking member, House Armed Services projection forces subcommittee

 

Lee Hudson, Pentagon Editor, Aviation Week Network

 

Sponsored by:

Makino

REGISTER

Fireside Chat with Jens Bischof, Eurowings Chairman and CEO

March 22, 2021

9:00 EDT / 13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET

 

Germany-based Eurowings, the low-cost carrier brand of Lufthansa Group, is poised to launch a long-haul brand, Eurowings Discover. This and the airline’s view of how the leisure travel market recovery is shaping up—the challenges and opportunities—will be discussion points with Jens Bischof, a highly-respected and innovative executive with a strong track record at the Lufthansa Group.

 

Moderated by Karen Walker, Editor-in-Chief, ATW

 

REGISTER

Fireside Chat with Dorothea von Boxberg, Lufthansa Cargo CEO

March 24, 2021

11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET

 

Lufthansa Cargo is one of the largest cargo airlines globally. The carrier, like much of the sector, is facing a complex set of circumstances in the COVID-19 pandemic, managing relatively high demand and scarce capacity.

 

Navigating the airline through the crisis is at the top of Dorothea von Boxberg’s challenging agenda as she takes the CEO position on March 1. Von Boxberg has served as the airline’s Chief Commercial Officer since 2018 following senior roles in the group’s passenger airline division and at Star Alliance.

 

Beginning her career at Boston Consulting Group in 1999, Von Boxberg discusses the challenges Lufthansa Cargo and the industry faces with Jens Flottau, Aviation Week Network’s Executive Editor, Commercial Aviation.

 

REGISTER

SpeedNews Webinar: Status of the Industry - Survival of the Supply Chain

March 24, 2021

11:00 EST 

 

Supported by Alderman & Company

 

Discussion topics: The Supply Chain: Consolidation and Restructuring

 

Moderated by Joanna Speed, Aviation Week Network

 

William H. Alderman - President, Alderman & Company

 

Christopher Gidden - Managing Director, Stephens

 

David A. Nolletti - A&D Practice Lead, Conway MacKenzie

REGISTER

Fireside Chat with Johan Lundgren, easyJet CEO & Incoming A4E Chair

March 25, 2021

11:15 EDT / 15:15 GMT / 16:15 CET

 

UK-based low-cost carrier easyJet is a major force in European air travel. CEO Johan Lundgren will provide his insights into how the market has been re-shaped by the coronavirus pandemic and Brexit.

 

The discussion will take place on the day Lundgren also takes up the post of Airlines For Europe Chair, providing a platform for him to share viewpoints on industry-wide issues such as sustainability and carbon reduction and aviation taxation.

 

Moderated by Karen Walker, Editor-in-Chief, ATW

 

REGISTER

Fireside Chat with Carlos Munoz, Volotea CEO

March 26, 2021

6:00 EDT / 10:00 GMT / 11:00 CET

 

Barcelona-headquartered Volotea is proof of the flexibility and adaptability of low-cost carriers that has served them well through the pandemic-driven downturn. Volotea, founded in 2012, has expanded its fleet to become an all-Airbus narrowbody operator and now serves some 90 European cities.

 

Co-founder and CEO Carlos Munoz is a recognized expert in LCC operations having founded Spanish budget carrier Vueling, now one of Europe’s largest LCCs, before turning to the creation of Volotea.

 

Moderated by Victoria Moores, European Bureau Chief, Air Transport World

 

REGISTER

Fireside Chat with Alexandre De Juniac, IATA Director General

March 26, 2021

10:00 EDT / 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET

 

Under the leadership of CEO Alexandria de Juniac, IATA has led the charge to adapt the global airline industry to the devastating effects of the pandemic. De Juniac, a former Air France-KLM Group CEO, has worked tirelessly to persuade governments of the critical need for financial assistance and to adopt workable hygiene and border practices that can best enable air travel recovery.

 

As he nears the end of his IATA term, he discusses the challenges ahead.

 

Moderated by Karen Walker, Editor-in-Chief, ATW

 

REGISTER

SpeedNews Webinar: Status of the Industry - Where Do We Go from Here?

April 21, 2021

1:00 EST

 

Discussion topics: Where Do We Go from Here?

 

Moderated by Steve Costley, Managing Editor, SpeedNews, Aviation Week Network

 

Richard Aboulafia - Vice President, Analysis, Teal Group

 

William H. Alderman - President, Alderman & Company

 

Richard Apps - Director, Counterpoint Market Intelligence

 

Dr. Kevin Michaels - Managing Director, AeroDynamic Advisory

REGISTER